Discovery >

Raja Ampat Archipelago’s Rich Marine Life

January 11, 2018 by Khiri Travel | Filed Under: ,

The Raja Ampat or Four Kings – named after the four kingdoms that once ruled the region – is an archipelago made up of over 1,500 small islands, cays and shoals that surround the four main islands of Misool, Salawati, Batanta, and Waigeo – along with the smaller island of Kofiau. The islands are well known for their spectacular diving and their unique local Papuan culture, which due to the destination’s remoteness, is still very much alive.

The islands are best visited overnight by boat, but day trips are also possible. Many of us have seen the legendary Planet Earth scenes of the dancing ‘Birds of Paradise’. Follow in the footsteps of naturalist Alfred Wallace on a one-hour hike that will almost guarantee you a sighting of the male bird’s courtship dance.

In Misool’s Tomolo Bay, swim in a saltwater lake with millions of pink harmless jellyfish – a very soothing experience. You can also swim inside a 200-metre-long dome-topped cave and practice standup paddleboarding through the many inlets and rock islands off the karst stone coast of Misool.

You can also check here for ‘The Unspoilt Isles of Karimunjawa’ for more adventure experience over the islands!

For more information about our trips and authentic experiences with us, please contact [email protected]

Latest post

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our B2B newsletters are for industry professionals

    *We’ll never share your email address and you can opt out at any time.